December 5, 2023
Testing of Bricks As Per IS Code

Testing of Bricks As Per IS Code

Testing of Bricks As Per IS Code

Bricks are the building blocks of any construction project. They provide strength, stability, and durability to the structure. However, not all bricks are created equal. To ensure the quality and durability of bricks, various testing of bricks are conducted as per the IS code.

1. Dimension and Tolerance Test

The first test conducted on bricks is the dimension and tolerance test. This test ensures that the bricks are of the correct size and shape as specified in the IS code. It checks for any deviations in length, width, and height.

2. Compressive Strength Test

The compressive strength test is crucial to determine the load-bearing capacity of bricks. It measures the maximum load a brick can withstand without breaking. This test helps in selecting the right type of bricks for different structural requirements.

3. Water Absorption Test

Bricks should have low water absorption to prevent damage due to moisture. The water absorption test determines the amount of water absorbed by the brick after immersion in water for a specific duration. It helps in assessing the brick’s resistance to water penetration.

4. Efflorescence Test

Efflorescence is a common problem in bricks, where white salt deposits appear on the surface due to the migration of salts. The efflorescence test identifies the presence of soluble salts in bricks and helps in selecting bricks that are less prone to efflorescence.

5. Soundness Test

The soundness test evaluates the resistance of bricks to volume changes caused by alternate wetting and drying. Bricks with poor soundness can crack or disintegrate over time. This test ensures that the bricks can withstand environmental conditions without significant damage.

6. Impact Test

The Impact Test is conducted to determine the strength of bricks against impact or sudden loads. In this test, a brick is placed on a hard surface and struck with a hammer. The brick should not break into pieces and should retain its shape and strength. If the brick breaks into pieces, it indicates poor quality and low strength.

7. Hardness Test

The Hardness Test is conducted to determine the resistance of bricks against abrasion and wear. In this test, a brick is subjected to the abrasive action of a grinding wheel. The depth of the groove formed on the brick’s surface is measured to determine its hardness. Bricks with higher hardness values are considered more durable and suitable for construction purposes.

8. Structure Test

The Structure Test is conducted to assess the internal structure of bricks. In this test, a brick is broken into two halves, and the fractured surface is examined. The brick should have a dense and uniform structure without any cracks, voids, or lumps. Bricks with a sound structure are stronger and more resistant to moisture and temperature changes.

Importance of Brick Testing

Brick testing is crucial for several reasons:

1. Quality Assurance

Testing ensures that the bricks used in construction meet the desired quality standards. It helps in identifying defective bricks that may compromise the structural integrity of the building.

2. Durability

Testing determines the strength, water absorption, and density of bricks, which are essential factors in determining their durability. It helps in selecting bricks that can withstand various weather conditions and last for a long time.

3. Safety

Brick testing ensures that the bricks used in construction are safe and reliable. It helps in identifying bricks that may fail under load or pose a risk to the occupants of the building.


Testing of bricks as per the IS code is essential to ensure the quality, durability, and safety of the constructed building. It helps in selecting bricks that meet the required standards and can withstand various environmental conditions. By conducting these tests, builders and construction professionals can ensure that their projects are built with superior quality bricks that will stand the test of time.

Also Read

Characteristics of Good Bricks

Manufacturing of bricks step by step

FAQs on Testing of Bricks as per IS Code

Are you curious about the testing of bricks as per the IS code? Look no further, as we have compiled a list of frequently asked questions to help you understand the process better.

1. What is the IS code for testing of bricks?

The IS code for testing of bricks is IS 3495 (Part 1):1992.

2. What are the different tests conducted on bricks?

Some of the common tests conducted on bricks include compressive strength test, water absorption test, efflorescence test, and dimension test.

3. How is the compressive strength of bricks determined?

The compressive strength of bricks is determined by subjecting them to a compressive load and measuring the maximum load they can withstand before failure.

4. What is the significance of water absorption test?

The water absorption test helps in determining the porosity of bricks and their ability to resist moisture penetration.

5. What does the efflorescence test indicate?

The efflorescence test indicates the presence of soluble salts in bricks, which can cause deterioration over time.

These are just a few of the frequently asked questions on testing of bricks as per the IS code. It is essential to conduct these tests to ensure the quality and durability of bricks used in construction projects.

Er. Thalib Mushtaq Tantary

My name is Er. Thalib Mushtaq Tantry and I am the founder of this very site. I am a MBA and civil engineering student and I love to help people get out of trouble they counter in their lives.

View all posts by Er. Thalib Mushtaq Tantary →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *